Burnt Toast

burnt toast

I don’t know when we as a society began to think that it is okay to demonize the poor, or to let others get away with it.

I don’t know when we began to think that it is okay to harass, or openly disparage those who are suffering.

I don’t know when we began to think that is okay to treat others the way we do not want to be treated.

I don’t know who is too blame for this other than ourselves.

I do know what I can do about it.

It starts with me, and it starts with the lessons I teach my children.

It starts with showing them that giving is the best gift of all.

It starts with kindness.

It starts with enjoying our burnt toast………………….♥♥♥

Burnt Toast

Last night
I burnt my toast
and profanity
ran through my head

Then I felt ashamed
at my thoughtlessness
when I thought of
those without any bread

So I scraped
off the burnt particles
which formed
a pile of darkened crumbs

And I thought of
those with more problems than I
and how much
they must overcome

So I ate a sandwich
with the burnt toast
and felt blessed
and no longer mad

And I smiled
and enjoyed every morsel
for it was
the best sandwich I’ve ever had…

Kathy ❤

Poetologie

Leave a Reply

