The Flame

I wrote this poem awhile ago, inspired by Newtown.  Today I dedicate it to the victims of the Charleston tragedy.

Rev. Clementa Pinckney
Tywanza Sanders
Cynthia Hurd
Sharonda Singleton
Rev. Daniel Simmons
Rev. DePayne Middleton-Doctor
Susan Jackson
Ethel Lance
Myra Thompson

We will remember your names…..

candle heart hands

The Flame

When the candles stop burning,
will you remember my name?
Will you honor my shortened life,
will you carry on the flame?

The heat of injustice,
can ignite a spark;
though the candles will stop burning,
I’ve already left my mark.

On this world that is fleeting,
with short news cycles, it’s true;
when the candles stop burning,
I’ll still be remembered, will you?

Do what you can,
to bring peace and love to mankind;
so when the candles stop burning,
you will not be left behind.

So try to make a difference,
as time waxes and wanes;
leave this world better off,
since the time that you came.

Live life with much purpose,
through all the twists and turns;
so when your candle stops burning,
another will continue to burn…

Kathy ❤

Poetologie

(& Twenty Six Seeds of Love for Newtown)

#CharlestonShooting

#Charleston

#PrayforCharleston

One comment

  1. Susan Langer · June 27, 2015

    Such a sad tragedy is Charleston. It reminds us that life is fleeting and we need to live each day to its fullest. BTW, I have a new blog where I am doing a 30 Day Poetry Challenge that I created. If you are interested, it is at http://susancfl.wordpress.com. Have a great Saturday, Kathy. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

