The Song Without a Name

guitar-girl-grass-Favim.com-462659

I must have lived a past life as a country songwriter.

This is the 3rd country song I’ve written.

It is so funny, because I’m mostly a classic rock fan & part-time poet, but these songs keep coming to me out of nowhere & I can totally picture the song & tune.

I believe this one came to me because of all the Tim McGraw pics I’m seeing from the Concert for Sandy Hook Promise, and the love I’m feeling through them………….♥♥♥

The Song Without a Name

I can’t be a writer,
until I do a little living;
I can’t be a saint,
until I’ve done a little sinning.

I can’t be a giver,
until I’ve felt what it’s like to need;
I can’t be generous,
until I learn to control my greed.

I can’t help those who suffer,
until I see we are all the same;
I can’t learn to love you,
until I learn to be humane.

I can’t truly be happy,
until I learn to love myself;
I can’t spread this happiness,
until I love someone else.

I can’t get stronger,
until I continue to walk my path;
I can’t learn to really live,
until I learn that it won’t last.

I can’t accept my fate,
until I care about yours;
I can’t be part of humanity,
until I stop shutting the door.

I can’t be part of the world,
until I care about who’s in it;
I can’t learn to love war,
because no one really wins it.

I can’t try to change my world,
until I try to change myself;
I can’t live in harmony,
until I stop blaming someone else.

I can’t truly end this song,
until I say to you;
just do your best, and love each other,
and in the end we’ll all pull through.

I can’t really find a title,
so this is the song without a name;
I can’t be ready to leave this Earth,
until I leave it better than when I came….

Kathy
Poetologie
Nuts About My Son
Twenty Six Seeds of Love for Newtown

copyright 2015

Leave a Reply

