Why The Series Finale Of My Daughter’s Favorite Show is So Upsetting

The series finale of my daughter’s favorite show “Austin and Ally” is Sunday, January 10th. I keep hearing the announcement as we have the Disney channel on most of the day. Each time I hear the commercial, I get a little verklempt.

I’ve been trying to figure out why.

Why am I so upset that this show is ending? I mean it’s not exactly Game of Thrones where I sit on the edge of my seat, and freak out waiting a whole week for the next episode. I go through seven hells while I await a new season. That is certainly not the case with Austin and Ally.

But, it is a special show that I share with my daughter. It is a way for us to bond and to spend time together. Just like we did with iCarly and Good Luck Charlie.

It is marking the rapid passage of time. It has been on for four years. Years filled with happiness, tears, and love. My daughter was 6 when the show started, and is now 10 and getting ready to graduate elementary school.

Where has the time gone?

I feel like a chapter has ended, and a new one is beginning.

I’m not sure I’m ready for it to end yet.

I can remember watching the Wiggles with her as a baby and toddler.  I can still envision finding her face frozen in fear as she watched a creepy Wiggles puppet video, and the pure joy on her face as Murray shouted out her name that was written on a sign for their concert.

I will always hold those memories dear, and I will look forward to creating new ones.

But for now I will hope this week goes by slowly. I will take more time to gaze at my daughter so I can remember how she is exactly at this moment in time. I will take a few more minutes to talk to her, to hug her, to show her how much I love her.

I will take time to deal with the realization that she is not a baby anymore, she is not yet a teen. She is in an in between stage. A stage where she is not as easy to please. A stage where her iPad is more exciting than me. A stage I must get used to, and learn to enjoy.

She is growing up, and I must grow with her as a mom.

I must face the facts that though these four years have gone by so swiftly, there are many wonderful years ahead.

I will sit with her next Sunday, and enjoy the moment. Images of my own childhood will flash by, like when I watched the last episode of Little House on the Prairie, or MASH.

Time stopped back then for these events.  Everyone was watching those shows at the same time. Everyone talked about them the next day. They were big moments in history.

Times have changed and media has changed. There are still big moments, but they are different, and they are fleeting.

The Austin and Ally series finale may not make history, but it will forever be a part of me. It will forever be a special memory that I shared with my daughter.

I’m sure that we will shed a few tears when it’s over. I’m sure that we will want a quick hug.

What I’m not sure of is what the future holds.

What will the next chapter in our lives be like?

I’m so thankful to my daughter for all the wiggles, random dances and belly swirls. I’ve enjoyed every single one.

I can’t wait to see what’s next, and as I prepare for it, I hope she knows that she’s one in a million, and that I’ve always got her back.

Kathy ❤

Poetologie

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

